Special Forum on the Study of Geography and War

Start
End
Location
222B Strickland Hall
view of the sea
boat and bridge

Overview of Conference Papers (* denotes virtual presentation)

Notes: all times CST; * virtual presentation

 

 

9:30am – 10:15am

Revisiting Violence in Refugee-Hosting Areas*

Beth Elise Whitaker (Professor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte): bwhitaker@uncc.edu

Kerstin Fisk (Associate Professor, Loyola Marymount University): Kerstin.Fisk@lmu.edu

 

10:20am – 11:05am

Ethnicity and Strategic Repression of Protest during the 2011 Syrian Uprising

Konstantin Ash (Assistant Professor, University of Central Florida): konstantin.ash@ucf.edu

Kevin Mazur (Fellow, Crisis Group): kevin.a.mazur@gmail.com

 

12:30pm – 1:15pm

Where is the Promised Territory? The Determinants of the Geography of Violence in Civil Conflicts*

Arzu Kibris (Associate Professor, University of Warwick): a.kibris@warwick.ac.uk

 

1:20pm – 2:05pm

Hit Where it Hurts: City Vulnerability During Wartime

Bryce Reeder (Assistant Professor, University of Missouri): reederbw@missouri.edu

Gary Uzonyi (Associate Professor, University of Tennessee): guzonyi@utk.edu